When are you officially grown up? 

A friend I’ve known since kindergarten now preaches regularly at my home church.

Another friend I’ve known since kindergarten just gave birth to her first child.

Kids born when I graduated from high school are finishing the third grade.

My husband and I have been married longer than anyone else in our small group.

This weekend at the grocery store I was wished a happy Mother’s Day by the sacker at the checkout.  (She didn’t ask if I was a mother – just assumed I was.  I promptly told her I was not a mother but thanked her for the sentiments and left wondering if I had leftover Cheerios stuck on my shirt or something.)

And worst of all, the indentations on my forehead when I wake up in the morning seem to be sticking around long-term.

So, if someone could kindly explain to me when you become a real, bonefied adult, I would truly appreciate it.  I fear I’ve crossed the line and didn’t even realize it.  Does this mean I have to start acting like an adult too?  Is it too late to go back?

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.  When I became a man I put childish ways behind me.  (I Corinthians 13:11)

