I am an introvert.  I love people, but they wear me out after awhile (myself included).  And so I like to be out and about, but I also really love hanging out at home and relaxing.  And I really need it too.  Balance.  Moderation.  It’s the key to my sanity.  And usually my spiritual health.

However, my life over the past few months has been pretty hectic, and it’s starting to take its toll.  Sometimes I’m completely caught up in it and enjoying it, and other times I’m begging for it to stop, realizing that I’m just not made to go non-stop.  I guess the grass is always greener.

However, this season is going to last awhile, and so I’ve determined that I just have to deal with it.

I think that the hardest part of being busy – for me – is that it’s hard to focus intently on anything.  Which makes seeking God and hearing His voice especially difficult. 

It’s easy to go into survival mode.  But I want to do more than survive.

A few months ago I was listening to Beth Moore teach a series from Proverbs.  One of the primary things that stuck with me from those lessons is related to a verse that is well-read in many churches:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.  (Proverbs 3:5-6)

She pointed out that the Hebrew word that is translated as “acknowledge” in the verse means “know.”  In other words, in all your ways know Him. 

She expounded on this point by saying that, no matter what season of life we are in, we need to know Him in that season.  Know Him in the joy.  Know Him in the suffering.  Know Him in the calm.  Know Him in the storm.  Know Him in the monotony.  Know Him in the whirlwind. 

So that’s me right now.  Whirling and spinning and running around like a chicken with my head cut off.

But I am determined to know Him just as much in this season as any other.

It might be a little harder to keep my eyes fixed.  But as any dancer knows, the key to preventing dizziness and spinning out of control when you’re turning is to use a technique called spotting.  Dancers spot by “keeping the gaze and the head fixed in a certain direction as long as possible while the body executes the turn and then whipping the head around to ‘spot’ the original direction again.  This action is repeated at each full turn.” (Thank you, Wikipedia, for helping me to explain this without videotaping myself.)  

So for this next while, you will find me in the whirlwind, but hopefully you’ll also find me spotting Jesus.

