I was on the train the other morning, and I happened to be reading my Bible. 

[Sidenote: Please do not be impressed by this.  I promise it doesn’t happen all the time.]

I was trying to mind my own business.  But I’m really quite good at being able to shift my eyes to see what the person sitting next to me is reading while never moving my head. 

So someone sat down next to me and opened up a book – The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins.  The woman got off after two stops, and someone else sat down next to me.  Before she opened up her book, I caught a quick peek.  It was Gandhi’s autobiography.  The title – The story of my experiments with truth.

The contrast was stark. 

And it occurred to me that only one book has withstood the test of time, opinion, and the New York Times Best Seller List.

It made me think I should read it a lot more.

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the Word of our God stands forever.  ( Isaiah 40:8 )

