I grew up near Houston, Texas.  And let me tell you, you have never experienced a hotter summer than you get in Southeast Texas.  Unless of course you’re from Brownsville.  Then maybe you’ve got one up on me. 

But I feel that it’s important for me to share just how much I hate hot weather.  I LOATHE HOT WEATHER.  And not just hot weather.  Hot humid weather. 

Now I know that there are a lot of people in other places in this expansive country that think they know what humidity is. 

Let me be clear.  You don’t.

If you can cut the air with a knife and have a swarm of pet mosquitoes, then you understand.  Otherwise, you have no idea what you’re talking about.  

Granted, it’s good for the complexion and holding off the wrinkles that are fast-approaching.  But the hair?  Well, the hair hates Houston.  There’s a reason why women have big hair in Texas.  It either has to start out big because 0.2 seconds after exiting air-conditioning it will be flatter than a flitter (as my mother would say), or it gradually expands (and frizzes) as it is exposed to the water-like atmosphere we call outdoors. 

So, next time you think about making fun of a Texas woman and her ‘do, you just take a minute and pray for the complexities of her beauty regimen. 

The problem with the hot, humid weather of southeast Texas is that it doesn’t end.  Much like winter in New England.  I am not lying when I tell you that it has been 75 degrees (or warmer) on Christmas Day more times than I can remember.  Which really makes you want to try on all those sweaters you just opened that morning. 

Winter lasts for about twenty minutes in Houston.  Again, not kidding.  I know you think I am, but this truly is a very serious matter to me.

So given my strong feelings about summertime in Texas, what month did my husband and I choose to get married?  July. 

Because nothing says lifelong commitment like a couple of roasted relatives doing the Electric Slide. 

Oh, I kid.  We told our DJ that, if he did play that song, Groomaniac and Bridezilla would come out of their well-dressed shells and ruin his CD player forever. 

He stuck to our playlist. 

And everyone did have a mighty fine time, if I do say so myself. 

But I tell you, if we could have had an air-conditioned tunnel to get people to their cars after the ceremony, we would have done it. 

Because I was raised to be hospitable and considerate of my guests.

To this day, my husband’s uncle swears he has never been so hot in his life.  And he grew up near the beach.  I’m telling you it is not a happy weather experience.  You can trust me on this one.

When I went to college in North Carolina, I thought it was the most amazing thing that they had four seasons. 

I am not exaggerating.

Oh, and they had natural topography too.  My hometown had one God-made hill.  Again, not joking.  East Texas?  It’s flat.  With lots of pine trees.  That’s pretty much it in a nutshell. 

So, after experiencing leaves that actually changed colors in the fall, I quickly developed a cold weather clothing fetish.  And to this day, I will always choose a jacket over a tanktop.  Again, just in case you’re thinking about my birthday.  But who’s actually still reading at this point anyway?  [Hi, Granny!]

Moving to New England last fall, I figured we would just miss out on all the nice weather.  It would be cold forever, and then it would get hot.  And I would be perpetually miserable because my truly favorite seasons are fall and spring.  Everyone kept saying that it would get hot really quickly once Memorial Day rolled around.  I should have known they didn’t know what that word meant. 

Yes, we have had a few spurts in the 90s, but overall my summer has consisted primarily of days in the 70s and 80s.  It’s heaven.  Not really.  Because they still don’t have more than one Chick-fil-a.  But it has redefined my summer experience.  Today the high is supposed to be a blessed 78 degrees.

The reason I am telling you all this?  Well, clearly I have nothing to talk about but the weather. 

Which means I must be nominated for the Most Interesting Woman of the Year Award.

No, it’s actually because I feel like I need to exercise a little attitude of gratitude this week.  I can be prone to cynical realism at times, and I just need to get it out of my system by exercising a little “Thank you, Lord, for the New England summer!”  Because for once in my life, I actually enjoy being outside in June, July, and August.  My hibernation patterns have been radically altered.  And I’m grateful that I can enjoy these months, no matter how soon the cold will come again. 

And wherever you are, I hope that you can see something in your life to be grateful for today.  Maybe – just maybe – it will make the approaching winter storms a little more bearable.

… give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  ( I Thessalonians 5:18 )

