A few thoughts to close out the week:

  • Is anyone else humming the Olympic Fanfare all the time?  I can’t stop singing it and usually finish it off with a dramatic gymnast pose (you know, arms up, arched back) in front of the TV.  My husband just laughs and shakes his head. 
  • Michael Phelps.  Seriously, every time I get so nervous that he’s not going to pull it out.  And every time, it’s like a joke.  What an amazing athlete.  I wish he would have just come right out and acknowledged that he swam that 200m Butterfly blind because of the water in his goggles.  Is there anything this guy can’t do?  And I think it’s hilarious that they caught his mother putting on her chapstick before his race last night.  I love her.  And I love that she cries every single time he wins.
  • Our neighbors returned from their trip.  The plants survived, although the mum has seen better days.  I went across the hall fully prepared to beg forgiveness, and I was told it’s been on its last legs for quite awhile because it should have been re-potted.  I was greatly relieved to hear that I had not brought about its end on my own.  Thankfully, the science project (marigolds apparently, not a bean sprout – see, my plant knowledge is limited) survived and thrived.  There was noticeable growth, which greatly pleased our little neighbor.  I am glad to know I didn’t completely fail her. 
  • I am incredibly sleep-deprived.  I told my husband that we need to live in the Central time zone so that we don’t have to stay up so late to watch things on TV.  Yes, I know I can record these events and watch them the next day, but half the fun is being able to say that you remember exactly where you were when the Americans took gold AND silver in the women’s All-Around competition (sitting in bed, ready to go to sleep but so excited, with my husband sound asleep next to me).
  • I’ve been working from home on Fridays since the beginning of the summer.  It’s been nice to have one day off from my commute and to get to eat lunch with my husband.  He asked me earlier today if I could make sweet potato fries for lunch.  I said, “Sure, if you want them.”  He said, “Well, it is Sweet Potato Friday.”  And there is the excitement of our lives, folks.  Sweet Potato Fridays.
  • If it’s been a rough week for you, this is my prayer for you:  Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way.  The Lord be with all of you.  (2 Thess. 3:16)
