Five years ago tonight my husband (then boyfriend) took me out to a fancy belated birthday dinner.  (Because I had told him I had to study on my birthday for my Holocaust class test the next day.  After all, I am an overachiever.)

Then he took me to a park and gave me a diamond ring.  I said “yes” before he actually popped the question.  You could say I was eager.

Then we went back to the house he lived in with seven other guys.  They were all sitting on the couch and stood up and yelled when we walked in the door.

Then everyone we knew ran down the hallway into the living room and screamed “Surprise!” because they were there to celebrate my birthday.

Then they saw the ring on my finger. 

And there was much rejoicing.  And laughing.  And crying.  And singing.  And reminiscing.  And eating the second cake my roommate had baked in two days.

It was the perfect birthday party. 

It was also the perfect engagement party.

Surprises all around.  My husband was the mastermind.

Five years.

Time flies when you’re having fun.

