I was on the subway yesterday afternoon, but we were heading south of downtown so we were traveling above ground. 

Looking outside, I suddenly noticed an enormous rainbow.  It was beautiful.  And totally unexpected.

I looked around at my fellow passengers, expecting that someone else had to see it because it was so obvious and so picturesque.  But they were all completely engrossed in other things. 

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”  So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”  (Genesis 9:12-17)

Yesterday afternoon made me think about how many times we question God’s faithfulness. 

Meanwhile, there are reminders all around us that He is a God who keeps His promises. 

There is no one else like Him.

Oh, that we would pick up our heads and notice.

