A year ago my husband and I were living in an extended stay hotel, wondering when we would get to move into our new home

The leaves had started to change, and we were still living out of suitcases full of summer clothes.  I was trying to think up new meals I could cook with the three pots the kitchenette held in its cabinets.  My husband was almost halfway through his first semester at seminary.  We were in complete limbo, unable to move into our home but contractually unable to find another place to live.

We were frustrated.  Impatient.  Confused.  Feeling deceived.  Asking “why?” 

Today we live in an apartment on campus, not the condo we were under contract to purchase more than a year ago. 

And I couldn’t be more grateful. 

There is no way we could have ever known then what would happen in the economy over the past twelve months. 

But this morning I woke up in my own bed, and I wouldn’t want any other roof over my head.

When it was all over last November, my husband had said he felt like we had just walked through a dark room, turned around, flipped on the lights, and realized that there were all kinds of lions and tigers surrounding the path we had just taken.  And God had protected us from all of them.   

Almost a year later, we know there were more lions there than we could have ever imagined.

Sometimes we go through things that we think are completely unfair and unreasonable.  And I’m not trying to say that they aren’t.

But sometimes there is something else going on.  Something much more dangerous.  There is much more at stake than just our comfort or convenience.

In our limited understanding, we think we know what is just and best.  

But His ways are so much higher.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.  “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  (Isaiah 55:8-9)

I have no idea why God chose to protect us from a decision that could have had devastating financial consequences for many years to come.  But He did. 

And so today I am nothing but grateful that I didn’t get my way.

