I’ve been taking an inventory of things lately – how I spend my time, who I spend my time with, where I invest my energies.

I think God’s been trying to tell me some things about this stuff.  I think He’s been trying to teach me about pruning, deleting, cutting off. 

But how do I know what to cut off and cut out?

I am the true vine , and my Father is the gardener.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.  (John 1:1-2)

It’s a hard thing to take a look at whether the things that fill our lives bear any fruit or bear good fruit.

It’s a lot easier to look the other way, continuing to complain about the way things are and attaching the blame elsewhere.

But I’m learning that I can’t expect things to change if I’m not willing to get out the pruning shears.

This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.  (John 15:8)

