I met my husband on the first day of college.  At the freshman luau.  (Where they incidentally served hot dogs.)

I think he was the only one actually wearing a Hawaiian shirt.

It would be 2 1/2 years before either one of us was interested in the other.  And I’m so glad we were friends long before we ever dated. 

My husband is many things, but boring is not one of them. 

He’s a particular fellow – doesn’t like change much.  Actually, not at all.  But it’s part of what makes him the most loyal person I know. 

He makes me laugh.  Boy, does he make me laugh. 

He takes me to see the ballet.  Even though he’d rather be watching SportsCenter.

He buys me great cards.  And he sticks them in random places, like the bottom shelf of the refrigerator.

He still watches movies with me, even though he knows I’ll be asleep after fifteen minutes.

He’s incredibly intelligent – about stuff and about life.

He loves people so well.  Even when they’ve hurt him.  Even when they’ve disappointed him.  Even when he just met them.

He makes me want to be a better woman.

He never stops wanting to be a better man.

I told him one time long ago that he was a true disciple – a fisherman and a fisher of men.  And he’s taught me much about both.

He demonstrates humility in his relationship with God in ways that only I can see. 

He has an unbelievable ability to teach people so that they think they figured things out on their own.  And he’s totally alright with that.  And he never makes someone feel as if they’ve asked a ridiculous question in his class. 

He loves Jesus more than he loves me.  And I’m so glad. 

He’s my best friend.

Today happens to mark the twenty-seventh anniversary of his birth.

Happy Birthday, Parker Page. 

I’ve said it many times – you’re my favorite.

