Every city has its local news affiliates. 

And they all overdo their graphics and make their stories about that hard-to-open plastic wrapping seem like an intense journalistic investigation that will change your life.   

Oh, it will. 

It will make you realize you just lost two minutes of your life that you will never get back. 

It puts your life in perspective for sure.

In Boston, it is no different.

Except that, in my extensive experience, the ratio of sports stories to semi-normal news stories is unusually high. 

Bostonians love their Red Sox.  And their Patriots.  And their Celtics.  (Well, now that they’ve redeemed themselves.)

Sometimes they even love their Bruins. 

And so the local news anchors tend to be highlighting the important issues of the city’s beloved teams, rather than the local sports guy doing it.  Sometimes he gets to travel and report back on a story but that’s about it.  You rarely even see his face. 

It’s amazing really.

I still remember the day weeks that we were on “Boot Watch” over Tom Brady.  If I saw that footage of him climbing out of an SUV in NYC with a slight limp and a boot cast he was hiding under his pants one more time, I thought I might just go ahead and stick a pen through my eye.  You can draw the white circle around his foot again, but Bill Belichick is still going to stay nothing’s wrong.  Let’s move on.  There’s no need to talk to the guy who was walking across the street when Brady parked his car and hobbled away.

So you can imagine that their intense investigative reporting carries over into other topics as well. 

Like politics. 

And people have been running for President the whole time we’ve lived here.

So it feels like we’ve been waiting to “Voice Our Choice” since before the dawn of time.

On a commercial note, although the state of Massachusetts is clearly in the blue column each cycle, our neighbors in New Hampshire aren’t quite as definitive and still share our TV market.  That means I didn’t realize that John Kerry’s seat was up for grabs until three weeks before the election because John Sununu and Jeanne Shaheen were battling it out in a series of TV ads that must be defined as as THE most annoying rock in your shoe.  Ever.  Even my dental hygienist brought the whole thing up when she was cleaning my teeth on Election Day.  It’s a good thing they weren’t running in Massachusetts because I think Mickey Mouse would have won as a write-in candidate for the “Enough’s Enough with the Ads Party”. 

Nothing gets you ready for Thanksgiving like a little election commercial relief.

Back to the local news. 

The election season (especially during the primaries) was interesting, mostly because of the expert analysis provided by one Andy Hiller.

Let me tell you, “The Hiller Instinct” is spot on.

Like when he skillfully advised us that Barack Obama should be compared to Jacoby Ellsbury.  (Have I mentioned they’re obsessed with the Sox?) 

True insight, folks. 

It’s the monotone voice that really sells it, though.

I know, I know.  Why do I subject myself to this experience day after day?

Have I mentioned that I’m a planner? 

You see, I find it critically important to be up to date on the weather forecast, especially because I tend to do a good bit of walking to and from work.  And I need to know whether to wear my heaviest coat, whether to bring an umbrella, and whether I want to be wearing heels if I’m going to splash through puddles all day long.

And so each morning (and sometimes evening – I know it’s too much, thank you) I subject myself to the plethora of other stories to get my weather forecast. 

Last weekend, our favorite meteorologist had a little shivering snowflake icon above yesterday’s forecast. 

She was wrong.

But she also said it wouldn’t get out of the 30s this week.  And that the windchill today would feel like the temperature was in the single digits.

She was right.

Why did she have to be right?

