Well, on our annual football and chili day, what shall we consider?

Like many of you, I’ve spent some time thinking about some commitments or goals or whatever-you-want-to-call-them that I want to make for 2009.

I’ve been mulling some things over with God and have come up with a few things I feel like He’s challenging me to this year.  They’re not necessarily easy things.  At least not to me.  They’re not things I already do.  Or things I do with any great consistency.

And the thing is that I know I will likely fail at some point (or points).  I’m a weak-willed woman.  I know that these things are beyond my own capacity. 

But they are things that make me excited.  Mostly excited about how they might change me.  Make me more like Jesus.  Make me love Him more.  Cause me to love other people more.  Empower me to live more victoriously.

I don’t know about anybody else, but I just don’t want to be the same person on January 1, 2010, that I am today.  

I want to know Christ and experience that mighty power that raised him from the dead … No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing:  Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.  (Philippians 3:10, 12-14, NLT)

Drenched in grace, I am resolved to know Him.

