I don’t know about anyone else, but sometimes I just can’t stand myself.  I will readily confess that I’m very strong on the self-flagellation front.

The other morning I was telling God about how obnoxious I had found my behavior the previous evening, and these verses came to mind:

I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.  I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.  Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  (Lamentations 3:19-23)

His compassions never fail.

My Old Testament Lexical Aids tell me that the Hebrew transliteration of the word “fail” is “kalah.”  Kalah means “to be completed, finished, accomplished … to vanish, to cease, end … it sometimes conveys the idea of exhaustion, being entirely spent.”

God’s compassions are never finished. 

You have not used them up.

He has not grown tired of being merciful toward a contrite and repentant heart.  Praise Him.

And I don’t know about anyone else, but that gives me great courage to get up, dust myself off, and keep following Jesus. 

Sometimes my sin can consume my mind, and I can wallow in my frustration with myself.  And because I grow so tired of it (and myself), I convince myself that God has grown tired of me too.  And I think there’s going to come a point where I’ve reached my mercy quota.

But that’s just not true.

“Streams of mercy never ceasing call for songs of loudest praise …”

