Over the next two months, we will be studying Revelation in our Sunday School class, and someone posed an interesting question Sunday morning as we waded through the foundational introduction that will inform our study of the book.

“Why did God choose John to write Revelation?” one man asked my husband.  “I mean, He could have just used angels to carry His message to the churches in Asia Minor at that time.  Why did He have John write it down and communicate what he saw through letters?”

And it is that question that I think should cause the Church to bow in humility before our God, whose ways are beyond comprehension.

I think the heart of this man’s question is what both puzzles us and draws us to God in adoration. 

For what this man really wanted to know is why God chooses to use people to do His work in this world. 

And I don’t think there is a good answer for it.

But, frankly, it makes no difference to me. 

It is beyond my comprehension on most days just to understand that He does. 

The God of the universe, the God who has always been and will always be, the God who parted the Red Sea, and whose own arm worked out salvation for Him (Isaiah 54:16).  He is all-sufficient.  He needs no partner (Isaiah 44:24). 

And yet He chooses not only to dwell within us (I Cor. 3:16), but to use us to accomplish His purposes on this earth.

If only we would understand the honor and the responsibility of such a role. 

If only it would make a difference to us.

If only our “why” would become “who am I?”

Then King David went in and sat before the Lord and said, “Who am I, O Lord God, and what is my house, that you have brought me thus far?”  (I Chronicles 17:16, ESV)

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.  “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”  (Isaiah 55:8-9, NLT)

