Mark 11:27-33

I’m sorry but sometimes I just want to slap “the chief priests, the teachers of the law, and the elders” upside the head.  They were so stuffed full of themselves that they probably didn’t realize just how obnoxious they would sound in print, even 2,000 years later.  I read this passage in Mark today and got all annoyed  from the start.

But as a result, what stands out most to me in this passage is Jesus’ humanity and His sinlessness. 

Sometimes it is really hard for me to grasp this, but it is Scriptural conversations like these that remind me Jesus lived a real life, facing all kinds of normal and extreme temptations. 

If I had been in Jesus’ sandals (presumptuous I know), I would have wanted to say (in a not-so-respectful tone), “Look, guys.  I know you think you’re the most important people walking the planet right now.  But let me tell you that, in a few days, I will hang on a cross because of you and also for you.  So if you want to talk about authority …”

But, of course, Jesus didn’t do that. 

In His fully human nature, He refused to lower Himself to their standards.  He was wise, and He certainly knew how to turn the verbal cornering around on them.  But He refused to sin.

And that is why He could hang on a cross and take my punishment and yours.  He was the spotless Lamb of God.  He would endure the judgment of all sin and its consequences because,

He saw that there was no one to intervene; so his own arm worked salvation for him, and his own righteousness sustained him.  (Isaiah 59:16)

And it is that righteousness that has been imputed to us, that we may live lives like His.

Let us hold firmly to the faith we profess.  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are – yet was without sin.  Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.  (Hebrews 4:14b-16)

