Mark 14:22-25

The Last Supper is one of the most significant events in Jesus’ last days before the cross.  It is not just relived annually on Maundy Thursday, but rather it is a regular act of remembrance that Jesus Himself established for His Church.  It is my hope that my own familiarity with it does not diminish its profound meaning in my life. 

There is an old journal entry of mine from Maundy Thursday in 1991.  I had become a Christian just a few weeks earlier in Sunday School, where my mother was my teacher.  On a piece of looseleaf paper I stuck in a folder with brads, I wrote a note to God.  And I told Him in very simple words that I understood that night to be different than all of the previous Maundy Thursdays I had spent at church.  I knew it was different because I knew His salvation personally that year.  As a third-grader I didn’t know much.  But I knew that Communion meant something.  It meant something profound about who I had been and who I was saved to be.      

It is hard to know how much of it the disciples truly understood in that moment.  But I am quite sure they replayed the scene in their minds for the rest of their days.

Jesus laid out so frankly the purpose of His death.  His life would be “poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins” (Matthew 26:28).  There was no mincing of words.  And He was telling them very clearly that His death was to be the central focus of their lives. 

The hours were drawing short.  There were important things to be said and done before it would be finished.

I think John Stott summarizes it well:

“The Lord’s Supper, which was instituted by Jesus, and which is the only regular commemorative act authorized by him, dramatizes neither his birth nor his life, neither his words nor his works, but only his death.  Nothing could indicate more clearly the central significance that Jesus attached to his death.  It was by his death that he wished above all else to be remembered.” (The Cross of Christ, 71)

And, like the disciples, we must each appropriate Christ’s death in our own lives.  The cup and the bread are offered to each of us.

We must take, eat, and drink.

And we must remember.

