John 14:15-31

Jesus makes so many promises in this passage of Scripture.  I tend to think that the disciples were comforted by them in the moment, but that their meaning grew more personally profound throughout the coming years.  These next few hours and days would be confusing and sometimes terrifying to them.  But, with the passage of time, they would think back on the words Jesus spoke to them and realize that they were being fulfilled in their own lives and the lives of all who would believe the Savior. 

“I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever – the Spirit of truth … he lives with you and will be in you.”  (John 14:16-17)

The Spirit will take up residence in you and guide you to obedience.

“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.”  (John 14:18 )

I will never forsake you.

“Because I live, you also will live.”  (John 14:19)

I live.

You also will live.

“He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”  (John 14:21)

 I love you, and I will reveal who I am to you.

“I will not speak with you much longer, for the prince of this world is coming.  He has no hold on me, but the world must learn that I love the Father and that I do exactly what my Father has commanded me.”  (John 14:30-31) 

The prince of this world has no hold on me.

Praise you, Jesus.

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.  (Hebrews 10:23)

