John 15:1-17

The cross is drawing closer, and in just a few short hours the disciples will all fall away (Mark 14:27).

Yet ironically, as my husband reminded me, Jesus tells them to remain in Him (John 15:4).

Abide in me, He says.  Stay intimately connected to me, in the same way that branch must remain attached to the vine to survive.

By the morning you will have no desire to be associated with me, but know that you can do nothing without me. 

However, if you dwell in me, your life will have eternal impact.

It is the purpose for which I chose you (John 15:16).

To love as I have loved you is my command (John 15:12).  I was with the Father in the beginning, yet I entered this planet as an innocent baby (John 1:2).  I created everything you see (John 1:3).  Yet just a few minutes ago, I got up from the floor where I washed the feet of each one of you (John 13:5). 

In just a few hours, I will go to the cross for each one of you.

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13).

Abide in that love.  Make your home in that love, so that you are drenched and it overflows into the lives of those around you.

Tomorrow you will see me humiliated and suffering, but make your home at the foot of that cross.  And when my head bows forward and the blood on that crown of thorns drips down, it will cover you and it will bring you life.

Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water … And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.  (Hebrews 10:22,24)

