John 19:1-16; Matthew 27:27-31

Humiliation.  

I read these passages of Scripture and cannot help but think about how every act was intended to humiliate you.

Flogging.  A crown of thorns shoved down on your brow.  A purple robe.  A staff in your right hand.  Soldiers kneeling before you, ridiculing you.

Mocking.  Soldiers shoving their face in yours, snidely and sarcastically calling you by your rightful name, but thinking you were out of your mind.  

They spit on you.

They struck you in the face.

They took the staff out of your hand and started hitting you on the head again and again (Matt. 27:30).

And you let them do it.

There are a few times in my life where I have tasted public humiliation at the hands of some power-drunk and insecure individuals.  They are moments I will never forget.  They are moments you alone experienced with me.  Though some may not have wanted to associate with me in them, you never left my side.

It was because you are familiar with suffering.  You know what it means to be mocked and humiliated and physically scourged.  

And when I read what  you went through on my behalf, it is deeper and more profound than I can comprehend.  

You willingly endured the shame that I deserve.  

You spoke the world into existence, and then allowed those you created to mock you to your face.

Your sacrifice is so much greater than anything I could give.  Your suffering is so much more than I could ever face.  

Never let me grow insensitive to it.  

Never let me think you cannot relate to my pain.

Never let me forget that you endured it all willingly.

There is none like you.

“Do you refuse to speak to me?” Pilate said.  “Don’t you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?”  Jesus answered, “You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above.”  (John 19:10-11)

