I sing the wrong song lyrics all the time.  I can’t even explain how bad it is.  What makes it worse is that I have this strange habit of developing a perpetual medley of songs in my head that really have no connection to each other.  One note reminds me of a different song, so I start singing it.  Then a word in that song makes me remember another one.  And then my poor husband just stares at me, as if to say, “You are the strangest woman I’ve ever met, and I can’t help but laugh at the stuff coming out of your mouth.”

Because usually I am singing an incorrect phrase or word in at least all of them.

The other night I sang, “Hello, how are you, won’t you tell me your name?” (And I have no explanation for why this was the song that popped into my head.)

Why did I choose to sing “how are you” rather than “I love you?” 

I have no idea.  It just came out of my mouth.

I have a warped mind.

But it occurred to me that, after awhile, if you’re used to singing the wrong words, then you have a hard time remembering whether the ones you’re singing are right or wrong.

Sometimes it doesn’t matter. 

But sometimes it does. 

In an age of continual media bombardment, messages are flying into our ears, minds, and hearts at breakneck speed.  Once we’ve heard them enough times, we begin to repeat them.

Then we begin to believe they are correct.

And we live what we believe.

The poor, deluded fool feeds on ashes.  He trusts something that can’t help him at all.  Yet he cannot bring himself to ask,”Is this idol that I’m holding in my hand a lie?”  (Isaiah 44:20, NLT)

But we must ask ourselves the question.

And we do it by learning to sing the right words.

