I was reading I Corinthians 13 in The Message the other day and stopped when I got to this:

Love … doesn’t revel when others grovel…  (13:6)

When others mess up, love doesn’t throw their failures back in their face.

When others ask for forgiveness, love doesn’t dwell on why they need to do so.

When others are broken, love doesn’t crush them.

When others are humbled, love humbly stoops down and lifts them up.

When the sins of others are laid bare before all, love covers them.  (I Peter 4:8)

The son said to him, ” Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you.  I am no longer worthy to be called your son.”  But the father said to his servants, “Quick!  Bring the best robe and put it on him … Let’s have a feast and celebrate.  For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found” … The older brother became angry … “All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders … But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!”  “My son,” the father said, “you are always with me, and everything I have is yours.  But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.”  (Luke 15:21-32)

