I love Washington D.C.  It is by far one of my favorite cities to visit, and I’ve loved getting to travel there for work a few times over the past year.

As my plane took off from Reagan Airport a couple of weeks ago, I looked out the window in an attempt to spot as many landmarks as possible.

I saw the Capitol, then the Washington and Jefferson Monuments.

But before I could pick out any others, they were gone.

I literally blinked, and we were completely enveloped in thick rain clouds from that moment until we landed in Boston.

I was a little miffed.  I had wanted to see more of these marvels that have stood so long as reminders of people and events and principles.

But before I knew it, they were gone.

Lift up your eyes to the heavens, look at the earth beneath; the heavens will vanish like smoke, the earth will wear out like a garment and its inhabitants die like flies.  But my salvation will last forever, my righteousness will never fail.  (Isaiah 51:6)

