Life’s been busy lately.  Busy with goodbyes and hellos, weeping and laughing, and all of the other stuff that comes with living in community.  Busy with the kind of stuff that conjures up all sorts of questions inside.  Questions for which I have no answers right now.

There are a lot of unknowns for me in this season, and I have to be okay with that because it’s not going to change anytime soon.  But once again it’s made me aware of how desperate I can be for control, how frustratingly difficult I can find living by faith, and how deep is my vulnerability in an uncertain world.

Uncertainty.  That’s what I dislike so much.  That’s the word that makes me quake inside.

But it’s a reality.  It’s my reality right now.  And someday down the road when I think it’s not, it will still be my reality.

I would sure like to believe that all of my questions will be answered the way I’d like them to be.  And on time too.  But of that I can’t be certain.  I’m not even certain of my own self most days.

So I must return to the Way that seems so counterintuitive to one like me.  Assurance of what I hope for.  Certainty of the unseen.

There is One of whom I can be certain.

When the earth and all its people quake, it is I who hold its pillars firm.  (Psalm 75:3)

