We celebrated Communion at our church this morning, and I was particularly struck by one phrase of which I have grown far too familiar.

And he took the bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”  In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.”  (Luke 22:19-20)

Broken.  For you.

Poured out.  For you.

As we continue on in our lenten journeys, marking the way to the cross, may His words echo in our ears.

And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.  (Luke 22:44)

“For you.”

“He is worthy of death,” they answered.  (Matthew 26:66)

“For you.”

Then Pilate released Barabbas to them.  But he had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.  (Matthew 27:26)

“For you.”

Then the governor’s soldiers took Jesus … they stripped him and put a scarlet robe on him, and then twisted together a crown of thorns and set it on his head.  They put a staff  in his right hand and knelt in front of him and mocked him … They spit on him, and took the staff and struck him on the head again and again.”  (Matthew 27:27-30)

“For you.”

Jesus said, “I am thirsty.” (John 19:28 )

“For you.”

From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the land.  About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani? — which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  (Matthew 27:45-46)

“For you.”

Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.  (John 19:30)

“For you.”

